[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.22″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.25″ background_size=”initial” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″ _builder_version=”3.25″ custom_padding=”|||” custom_padding__hover=”|||”][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.27.4″ background_size=”initial” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat” custom_padding=”||0px|||”]The name of the town “AJOWA” means “Coming Together”. The All Saints’ Church Ajowa has its historical background  in all the different Churches of the towns which is merged together to form one town.  The idea of coming together of these towns and their churches came to being in this manner.  Akoko Country being a war confounded area for centuries past, all the towns and villages lived in scattered hide-outs on the hills around.  The connecting foot paths among them were really appalling.  Most of the people lived in fear of one another and of their common enemies, the slave raders.  It was Rev. L.A. Lennon, on his arrival into the District in 1920 who initiated the idea of the road from Owo to Ose Aiyere river; and he laboured relentless for its construction.  As the construction of the road went on earnestly, Rev. L.A. Lennon ceaselessly worried all akoko towns which were far in hide-out bushes and hill-tops to come to new main road for social, economic, educational, religious and easy communication purposes.  That is why today, one find a large percentage of Akoko towns and villages along that main road from Owo to Ose – Aiyere river.   12 towns – Akunnu, Efifa, Ojo, Daja, Esuku, Uro, Ibaram, Gedegede, Eriti, Ighasi and Ora decided to move from their old sites to form one new town on the main road.  As this decision was not strictly binding out allowed for freedom of action on the part of individual towns and persons, not all reacted to it in the same manner.  Daja acted almost immediately in 1929.  some moved to other sites gradually, some partly, some changed their minds and moved to other sites, while others did not keep to the decision.  It has been a gradual process which is consummating in the presentbig enjoyable city of Ajowa.  Mr. R.A. Olusa laboured much about the planning and settlement of the township.  Out of the original towns and churches who decided in 1927-1928 to shift together, those who so far moved to the agreed site are Daja, Ojo, Efifa, Uro, Ora, Oso, Esuku, and partly Akunnu.  It was to be understood that these churches had already overcome the usual open pagan and muslim confrontation at their old sites before coming together.  The problem at the new sites had been that of Fusing Together elements of divergent origins languages, dialects and similar outlooks. Ajowa Archdeaconry is now with three Churches viz: St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, Ojo, Ajowa; Christ Anglican Church, Uro, Ajowa while All Saints’ Anglican Church, Daja Quarter, Ajowa is the Archdeaconry seat.  Many workers had worked here in this church and the present Vicar and Archdeacon[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section]

Leave a Reply